Since it’s almost Valentine’s Day, I decided to make a countdown of my favorite moments of love, with quotes and movie clips as a starting point. There would be one released every other day until the 14th of February. I hope you enjoy.

-oOo-

Day 4: Death ends a life, not a relationship

On this fourth day, I struggle with the notion of enduring love. Love that lasts for more than a life time. While looking for video clips, I couldn’t really pick the one that just feels right. I went to the Death of Little Foot’s Mom in “A Land Before Time”, to a short clip from the Anime “Fairy Tail”, to Titanic’s “My Heart Will Go On” performed by Celine Dion. All of them were either too depressing or too mushy for my taste. So struggling to find the right clip, I sat and wasted several minutes until I bumped my head and realized, Oh, why did I forget “Rent”?

Rent, a musical by the late Jonathan Larson, revolves around the lives of a group of impoverished young artists and musicians struggling to survive in New York and HIV/AIDS. This Tony Award-winning musical, based on Puccini’s La bohème, captivated audiences around the globe even having a big-screen version in 2005. The most compelling part is of course the music, but the transformation from song to real emotions by the actors really makes this musical a big success.

So anyway, how is this connected to my theme today?
I wanted to talk about love that endures even against the most wicked of circumstances: Death. And I would say, this number, “I’ll Cover You (reprise)” serving as a Eulogy to one of the characters, just shows how influential a life of love is, not only to your immediate lover, but also to the community around you.

Angel, has been described as strong (“I’m more than a man than you’ll ever be, and more of a woman than you’ll ever have”), creative (“Take an old table cloth and she’ll turn it into something, the next thing you know they’ll be mass producing it in the gap”), and genuinely helpful (Helped tourists, helped Collins, etc.). Despite succumbing to AIDS and dying, her legacy lives on in her lover, Collins, and their friends: No day, but today!

To drive home the point, I leave you with a similar message, but this time from a book by Mitch Albom, “Tuesdays with Morrie”.

“As long as we can love each other, and remember the feeling of love we had, we can die without ever really going away. All the love you created is still there. All the memories are still there. You live on—in the hearts of everyone you have touched and nurtured while you were here.” (p. 174)

“Death ends a life, not a relationship.” (p. 174)

(PS. This is actually a bit late! sorry ^_^)