Since it’s almost Valentine’s Day, I decided to make a countdown of my favorite moments of love, with quotes and movie clips as a starting point. There would be one released every other day until the 14th of February. I hope you enjoy.

-oOo-

DAY 3: True To Your Heart

I’ve been reading a lot of memes/criticisms about how fairy tales are so idealistic and it gives us a false hope and false image of love and relationships. I agree to this at some point, because who the hell kisses a supposedly dead stranger in a glass coffin surrounded by crying elves? How do you fall in love with someone by just hearing their voice?

But in fairness to these fairy tales, or at least to their DISNEY-fied version, it’s beginning to become more realistic over the past few decades, specially with transformation of the ‘damsel in distress’ to ’empowered women’, and from ‘prince riding on a white horse’ to ‘normal people, thieves or frogs’. These newer fairy tales tell of a more realistic notion of love.

Two of my favorite Disney movies are “Beauty and the Beast” and “Pocahontas”.

From Belle we learn that beauty is found within. While in the movie, Pocahontas tells John Smith, “If I never knew you, I’d be safe but half as real”.

I resonate with these two because it tells me not to settle. it is about taking risks and showing the world who you really are. And with this reflection, I am reminded of a quote from Marianne Williamson’s “A Return To Love”

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

So to end this rather long entry, I give you a happy song, called “True to your heart” by 98 Degrees and Stevie Wonder from the movie “Mulan”, in the hope that we find our happy, ever after by being true to ourselves.