Since it’s almost Valentine’s Day, I decided to make a countdown of my favorite moments of love, with quotes and movie clips as a starting point. There would be one released every other day until the 14th of February. I hope you enjoy.

-oOo-

DAY 2: In your presence, night feels like day

We focus today on idealism of being in love. I bring you a video clip of one of my favorite Filipino love songs of all time, “Minsan Lang Kitang Iibigin”.

In this song we hear of a commitment by the singer to his beloved (With English translation):

Mahal, pangako sa iyo
Hindi magbabago
Ikaw lang ang iibigin ko
(My dear, I promise never to change, that you’ll be my only love)

Kahit Ikaw ay lumayo
At masaktan ako
Asahan na ‘di maglalaho
(Even when you leave and hurt me, know that my love will never fade)

REFRAIN
Ang pag-ibig ko’y tanging sa’yo lamang
Kung kaya giliw dapat mong malaman.
(My love is only for you, and so, you should know:)

CHORUS:
Minsan lang kitang iibigin
Minsan lang kitang mamahalin
Ang pagmamahal sa’yo’y walang hangganan
Dahil ang minsan, ay magpakailanman.
(I will only fall for you once, I will only love you once, my love for you has no boundaries because once is as long as forever)
NOTE: “ibigin” is more appropriate for romantic love while “mahal” is more encompassing love (used for friends, family, etc.)

Minsan lamang sa buhay ko
Ang ‘sang katulad mo
Ako rin ba’y iniibig mo
(Someone like you seldom comes to my life, do you love me too?)

Dinggin puso’y sumasamo
Sinusumpa sa’yo
Ikaw ang tanging dalangin ko. ()
(Hear my heart promising you that you are my one desire)

REPEAT REFRAIN
REPEAT CHORUS

Minsan lang kitang iibigin
Minsan lang kitang mamahalin
Ang pagmamahal sa’yo’y walang hangganan
(I will only fall for you once, I will only love you once, my love has no boundaries)

Dahil ang minsan, ay magpakailanman.
Dahil ang minsan, ay magpakailanman
(Because once is as long as forever)

I find Filipino love songs very moving, mostly because of this idealism. It is something worth looking forward to (for those of us who have never experienced this), something to remind us of our own experiences. It tells us that loving is such a wonderful experience, and that nobody should give up on love.

There are many of these songs and I also share some runner ups for these:

Ikaw performed by the UST Singers
Hanggang performed by the Philippine Madrigal Singers
Dahil Sa’yo performed by the UP Singing Ambassadors
Iniibig Kita performed by the Ateneo Chamber Singers

To end this short entry, I leave one of my other favorite, “Ikaw Lamang”

In this song, the beloved is compared to numerous things (with lots of analogies). The most powerful of which I leave with you statement:

“Sa piling mo, ang gabi tila araw.”
(In your presence, night feels like day)

Because love turns even the darkest night to the brightest day