1. Happy new year to all of you! For people who like to make resolutions, try small-scaled resolutions. Instead of saying, “I want to diet”, try saying “I will eat 1/2 kilo of broccoli a day.” Or if you have debt, pay it one small chunk at a time. Eventually, it gets paid.
  2. I did the broccoli thing and now my pee smells like broccoli. It must be fun to actually say this in real conversation. “Hey, you know, my piss smells like broccoli.”
  3. The word deposit is misleading. When people make a deposit, they are under the impression that you would get it back at whatever time they see fit. This idea is not directly applicable to a bank and most people do not understand this (This is why you have bank runs in the first place.). Can you think of any other English words that are misleading?
  4. Putting warning labels or graphic images of disgusting lungs does not seem to work at all. It is surprising that no one thought about putting pictures of actual men and women (in their 30s or 40s) who are smoking themselves to death. We stress physical beauty (no matter how much you deny it) and not so much inner beauty (both literally and figuratively). So why not apply the same principle when it comes to deterring people from some rather bad choices? Something along the lines of “smoking may lead to withering of your face and body” may be better than “smoking can kill you”.
  5. Cafeteria food may also be a possible way to diet. I have a tendency to overeat when I have groceries. By limiting your access and coupled with being a bit stingy, you could reduce food intake, cleaning and cooking. Of course, I assume that cafeteria food is tolerable. Surprisingly, having cafeteria food gives you the variety you need instead of burdening yourself with what to cook for the next meal. The time that you save from reduced cooking and cleaning activities can be used for some other pursuit like exercise or research.
  6. Doing research is probably one of the few places where there is a plethora of simple advice but somehow people find it difficult to stick to the advice. For example, people think they can write stuff up on the fly without editing. Usually, this is the wrong move. You can write stuff up on the fly but you have to read it again (after some time has passed). You have to edit the shit out of that paper you are writing. And be ready to throw your paper out for a rewrite.
  7. Don’t buy a Moleskine organizer. It may work for some but it does not work for me. I don’t use it because it looks so pretty. When I come around to use it, I may have to “dirty”my Moleskine with stray marks, erasures which are annoying. In fact, I don’t like taking notes because my handwriting is so undefined (it could be slanted to the right or left, cursive or print, or any other feature that makes handwriting analysis such a lucrative industry). Having physical paper around is not helping me.
  8. Until I found this software called Xournal. I write my notes here (along with a graphics tablet and stylus) and make my to-do list here as well. It has different paper options, paper sizes, color and rulings. It can even annotate pdfs without the bloated Adobe Acrobat. It has boosted my productivity by a lot. Note that this software is for Linux only.
  9. People should at least try migrating to Linux (especially the minimalist versions) because they run so smoothly even with very old hardware. I only use Windows for games from GOG.com nothing more.
  10. Just because you are called a creative consultant, it does not mean that you are creative at all. Classify this as things we do to fool ourselves.