MembranBiophysik und Biochemie

In my PhD project I’m using two advanced microscopy technique that I feel somewhat resembles what I love doing in real life.

-oOo-

Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM)

AFM is a scanning probe microscopy technique which “feels” the sample instead of trying to “see” it with light (or electrons). As such it can be very sensitive depending on how well the system resolves differences in the surface property. AFM thus, results in the imaging of the surface topography of the sample. However, the application of AFM does not stop there. Because another application of AFM is Force spectroscopy where it can measure the properties of a material by exerting force on it (via the probe). In a way, aside from feeling the surface, it also feels what’s inside the sample. Think of the AFM as a blind person trying to feel through his environment by touching it.

In a way, I…

View original post 500 more words