Here is a contribution by M. J. Romero, one of the members of ORPHEUS. I am sure most Filipino students and scientists have a lot of visa-related issues and would identify with the author. Let me offer my response.

Glasgow Photographer Rumelo Amor

by Mary Jacquiline Romero on 18 February 2012

I will write now while my “wound” is fresh, before physics (if not my two-year old son!) will take over. Do not be misled by the title. Even now with the Corona circus, I do not abhor being a Filipino. My scientific interests have led me far from home, but I can assure you, I am a Filipino through and through. Rightly or wrongly, I have high hopes for physics in the Philippines, and someday I will go home for good and contribute the best I can. For now, I am just an overworked and underpaid post-graduate student (It’s the same wherever you are, really!) trying to narrow the chasm between herself and a PhD Physics degree. Three and a half years have really been a breeze. Now, I am about to close that chasm, and forevermore attach the coveted “PhD” to…

View original post 848 more words